Robins Success – Hinmans Double

///Robins Success – Hinmans Double
Robins Success – Hinmans Double2017-05-21T15:46:05+00:00

In the 1938-39 season, the last before the outbreak of the World War 2, 31 teams from 20 clubs entered the Association's competitions and 554 players were registered during the season.

Robins continued its success in A grade by winning the premiership for the second consecutive season. Its A grade team was undefeated and had the remarkable record of losing only one match in the two seasons.

The outstanding performance for Robins was by Mick Hinman who matched Frank Coffey's double of the previous season by scoring 780 runs at an average of 70.91 and taking 53 wickets at 12.81. With these figures he headed the district batting aggregate.

Robins Cricket Club A Grade Team 1938-39. Undefeated A Grade Premiers and Winners of Rowley James Shield.Back row: H Buxton, W Sutton, J Salter, E Kent, R Robertson. Sitting: J Lintott(Vice-Pres.), M Hinman, F Kent,R Macmillan (Capt., Hon. sec.), E smith, C Rose, R Dransfie1d(Pres.). Insets: B Denny, D Denny, G Hyde, G Weakley (Hon. Treas.). Absent: C Cornell, E Brossman (scorer),averages, as well as the bowling aggregate.

Two other Robins players who had outstanding seasons were Ross Macmillan with 414 runs and 50 wickets, and Bert Denny with 517 runs and 24 wickets.

Marist Brothers finished runners-up to take out the WC Caines Cup. For Marist Brothers, Frank Coffey was again to the fore, scoring 664 runs and taking 36 wickets. In the last match of the season against East Maitland he scored 218 and figured in a district record seventh wicket partnership (that still stands) of 182 with his brother Bert.

The two changes in the A grade competition for the season were that Paterson dropped out and Cessnock East End combined with Cessnock. The A Reserve grade which had been introduced in 1932-33 was eliminated.

The B grade was conducted in two divisions and was won by Thornton which thereby became permanent holders of the Tippett Cup. Mulbring won the C grade with East Maitland the runners-up. The latter became out-light holders of the Lintott Cup for C grade runners-up.

Hunter River participated in Country Week from November 21 to December 2 1938. There were 28 teams involved and Hunter River had a creditable Carnival with three wins, one loss and one draw. Don Denny scored a century against Lithgow/ Blue Mountains and Col Johnston was the trophy, donated by Mrs V Grey, for the best batting average.

At the end of the Carnival, Mick Hinman and Col Johnston (12th) were selected in a Combined Country team that played against Sydney Colts on December 5 and 6 1938.

Later in the season Mick Hinman was selected to play in a NSWCA coaching team against Marrickville and represented NSW Second XI against Victoria in Melbourne. Included in the NSW Second XI team were Arthur Morris, Jack Chegwyn and Ron Saggers.

Four Hunter River players - Roy Allen, Clem Hill, Frank Coffey and Dick Holmes - represented Hunter Valley in a match against Southern District and the Federal Capital Territory that was played at the SCG in February 1939.

Two matches were played against Gloucester - one on the Anniversary Weekend and the other at Easter.However, by the end of the season war clouds were again gathering in Europe.