Ten Over Competition

Ten Over Competition2018-07-24T01:45:07+00:00

In 1966-67 the Single Wicket competition was replaced by a Ten Over competition. Twenty teams entered the initial competition with Hill's XI defeating Black Hill in the final. The competition proved to be more successful than the Single Wicket one in that there was much more involvement of players and it was much more entertaining as a cricket spectacle.

In succeeding years the competition was to become an established feature of the Association's cricket program and was to be a chief fundraiser for the Association. At times entries for the competition have exceeded a hundred, with entries coming from many leading Sydney clubs such as Randwick and Bankstown-Canterbury.

Over the years many top cricketers have taken part, including Gary Gilmour, Doug Walters, Steve and Mark Waugh, Mike Whitney, Wayne Holdsworth and Len Pascoe. One of the highlights was when Gilmour kept lobbing sixes on the green of the nearby bowling club. As a matter of safety, the bowlers decided to adjourn to the bar rather than run the risk of injury. Sponsorship for the competition has increased over the years to the stage where $1500 is allocated as prize money.

After 1978 it was also supported by Radio 2HD which gave it much wider media coverage. Much of the credit for its introduction and success should go to Eddie Hill, the organiser of the competition for many seasons. Appropriately in recent years, an Eddie Hill Shield has been awarded to the winners.

Another feature of the season was a Chegwyn match at Lorn Park on September 17 and 18 1966. Chegwyn's team included Norm O'Neill, Peter Philpott, Dave Renneberg, Brian Taber, Graham Corling, Geoff Davies, Lynn Marks, David Sincock, Kerry Owen, Terry Lee, Gordon Goffet and John Benaud.

The Maitland team was captained by John Cox and included as a guest player Doug Walters, who was granted leave from Singleton Army Camp where he was doing his National Service training. Other members of the Maitland team were Ron Allen, T Finch, C Elliott, A Elliott, DRawling, D Rutherford, W Trappel, J Crittenden, K Gabriel and N Hanley.

During the match, a new pavilion grandstand at Lorn Park was opened by EG Macmillan, President of the NSWCA and brother of former leading local player, Ross Macmillan. In the local competition, Northern District won the first-grade premiership and final, as well as the club championship, to break Eastern Suburbs' sequence of wins.

Eastern Suburbs, which was strengthened even further by the transfer of Colin Elliott and Terry Finch from Police Boys, and Michael Hanley from Black Hill, finished runners-up even though they were undefeated in the competition rounds. Allan Elliott (Northern District) and Peter Macmillan (Eastern Suburbs) were the only two batsmen in first grade to score over 500 runs. Michael Hanley (Eastern Suburbs) and Dave Rutherford (Northern District) both took 50 wickets.

The highest innings in first grade were recorded by Keith McLeod of Black Hill, who hit up 164 against Western Suburbs in an innings that included 24 fours and 2 sixes. Ron Allen (Eastern Suburbs) also scored 153 against Northern District, and 14;) not out against Combined City in a partnership of 220 with his brother, Ray (110 n.o.).

Two new clubs to enter the Association's competitions were RAAF and Medowie in second and third grades respectively. Rural Club, which had entered the previous season, won the second-grade division 1 premiership but was defeated by GUOOF in the final.

Masonite, which had entered in 1964-65, won the third-grade division 2 final by defeating Rayoneers. In representative Maitland, cricket regained the John Bull Shield from Cessnock. Best for Maitland were Dave Rutherford with 43 wickets and Allan Elliott with 359 runs. Maitland also had one of its few wins over Newcastle in the senior representative matches that had continued for a number of seasons.

Colin Elliott was selected for Combined Country Firsts and Doug Weakley, a dashing stroke maker with Black Hill, for Country Seconds. Glenn Brooker won a place in the Emu Colts team to tour NZ. Jeff Crittenden, showing considerable promise as a wicketkeeper-batsman, was selected for the Country Boys Coaching Class.

Ross McKinnon and Peter Rawling continued Maitland's representation in the State's Under 14 schoolboys teams by being selected for the interstate Carnival in Melbourne.