Double Representative Success

Double Representative Success2018-07-26T01:07:07+00:00

Maitland had a double representative success in the 1992-93 season winning both the John Bull Shield and Colts finals.

The John Bull Shield team, captained by Stuart Pannowitz, reversed the previous season's result by defeating Newcastle C & S in a closely contested match, while the Colts team, captained by Brett Cox, defeated Dungog.

This was the first occasion since the introduction of finals in 1978-79 that Maitland had won both finals in the same season. Both teams also went through the season undefeated.

In the local competition, Northern Suburbs won the first-grade minor premiership on averages from Thornton Park. Their team was captained by David Ward who scored 434 runs, including two consecutive centuries.

He was strongly supported by his brother Brett, who scored 417 runs, and by young opener Dominic Wilkinson with 336 runs, while their leading wicket-takers were district representative bowlers, Rod Faulkner and Stainton Priestley. However, Northern Suburbs was defeated in the semi-final by Raymond Terrace which went on to defeat Thornton Park in the final.

Craig Evans, after having scored 90 n.o. for Raymond Terrace in the semi-final, again showed his class in the final by scoring 75 n.o. In reply to Raymond Terrace's 6 for 287, Thornton Park was dismissed for 205 with Jason Hartcher taking 5 for 75.

District Player of the Year was Jason Allen, former Cessnock player who played with Western Suburbs and had a fine all-around performance.

Craig Evans of Raymond Terrace headed the district first-grade batting aggregate and averages with 620 runs at an average of 68.89. Other batsmen to top 500 runs in first grade were Robert Humphries of Eastern Suburbs (578 runs, including three centuries), Jason Allen of Western Suburbs (532 runs) and Derek Collins of Raymond Terrace (505 runs).

The highest individual score in first grade was made by Allan Wadwell of Thornton Park in a match against Raymond Terrace when he scored a hard-hitting 151, including 10 sixes and 10 fours.

Leading first-grade wicket-taker was promising young leg-spinner Todd Mitchell of City United, who took 30 wickets. A particularly meritorious performance was that of Jason Bartlett (Thornton Park) who despite an artificial foot finished second in the first-grade bowling aggregate with 27 wickets - an achievement that earnt him a special Courage Award.

The district cricket club championship was won by northern Suburbs which performed strongly in all five grades. In the club section Windsor Castle with a line-up including a number of former district players, won e minor and major premiership in A grade, while championship was won by Hinton for the consecutive season.

Raymond Terrace continued its run of success in the Prudential Cup competition with its third win in a row.

Derek Collins and Jason Hartcher represented Hunter Valley in the North West Zone Trials at Gunnedah. From there Jason Hartcher was chosen in the North West Zone team that competed in the Resehs Country Cup.

Derek Collins, Jason Hartcher and Todd Mitchell were in the Hunter Valley Under 24 team that played in the North West Trials at Cessnock. Jason Hartcher was selected in the North West Zone team to contest the inter-Zone Carnival at Narrabri and went on to be chosen in the Northern NSW Country Under 24 team.

Terry Crittenden achieved a major representative honour when he was selected in the NSW Under 17 team that played in the National Championship in Hobart. He also attended the Country Boys Coaching Class in Sydney. Daniel Feenan also progressed to be chosen in the NSW Country Under 17 team that played in the final trial match against NSW City.

Todd Mitchell was selected to attend a special "Spin Australia" Coaching Clinic at the Sydney Cricket Ground where he received tuition from former Test spinners, Peter Philpott and Ashley Mallett.

Simon Skinner was chosen in the Country Schools Cricket Association Under 19 team that competed at the NSW Carnival in Sydney and was later chosen in the NSW Schoolboys Open side that played against Queensland. Four Maitland players - Kirk Mullard, Adam Seymour, Michael Eccleston and Greg Caisley - represented Hunter Valley in the inaugural Under 16 St George Country Cup.

During the season Maitland played a one day match against the touring Canterbury Emerging Players. The opening of a new cricket complex at Kings Park, Raymond Terrace, was marked by a special match between a team of former Australian and State cricketers, led by Doug- Walters and a team of local players, led by Terry Walters.

Guest speaker at the Association's Presentation Night was Geoff Lawson, former Australian Test player and State captain. During the evening a special Memorial Shield for Representative Player of the Year was dedicated in memory of Bradley Shone, a former Western Suburbs player and John Bull Shield representative, who died suddenly at the start of the season. The inaugural winner of the shield was Rod Faulkner.

During the season Maitland suffered the loss of two other cricket identities - long serving Life Member Bob Brown and former representative player Joe French.