Maitland’s John Bull Shield Win

Maitland’s John Bull Shield Win2018-07-25T03:03:58+00:00

A highlight of 1986-87 season was Maitland's win the John Bull Shield - the first since 1971-72. The team, captained by Wayne Trappel, played the final against Gosford-Wyong at Graham Park. On a rain- affected wicket, Gosford-Wyong was dismissed for 179. In a nail-biting finish with 17 runs required off 17 balls, Brad Shone clinched the match for Maitland with two sixes off consecutive balls. In recognition of Maitland's win, the team was later given a civic reception, hosted by the Mayor, Ald. P Blackmore.

Another highlight of the season was a double century scored by Peter Allen. Playing for Eastern Suburbs against Bolwarra in· a first grade match at East Maitland Park, he hit up 222 not out, including 7 sixes and 27 fours. His innings passed the previous post - 1945 double century scores of Nick Lutovac (200) and John Cox (201), and was only 39 runs short of Vie Cockerill's 261 in 1940-41.

In a repeat of the previous season, City United ended up first grade minor premiers and Raymond Terrace major premiers. Raymond Terrace defeated City-United in the semi-final and went on to down Tenambit-Morpeth in the final. Kevin Mills performed strongly for Tenambit-Morpeth taking 7-13 off 12 overs against Northern District in the semi, and then scoring 59 and taking 3-58 in the final.

Raymond Terrace won its first club championship since 1967-68, and Western Suburbs also had a successful season, winning the second grade minor and major premierships and the third grade major premiership.

District Player of the Year was Stan Leayr (City United), who as well as being opening bowler, developed into an opening batsman for his club.

For the fourth successive season, Thornton won the club championship and the A grade minor premiership in the club section. In addition, the club won the BI minor and major premierships and the CI major premiership. However, it was defeated in the A grade final by SMR which also won the B2 final.

Ian McGill (Maitland Ex-Services) was named Club Player of the Year.

In the Prudential Cup, Raymond Terrace was defeated by Umina. Stephan Jones and Paul Dyson represented Hunter Valley in the Under 24 Colts Carnival at Armidale.

Paul Dyson was Representative Player of the Year. Following trials at Scone and Dubbo, he was the first reserve for NSW Country Under 17s. He also scored a century in a vital John Bull Shield match against Singleton that helped get Maitland into the final.

Two long-serving players retired from the Maitland cricket scene. Dave Rutherford, who had played his first game for Northern District in 1949 as a 13-year-old lad in third grade and had taken more than 1500 wickets for his club and Maitland, moved to Tasmania with National Textiles. Mick Jobbins, who had played 27 consecutive seasons for Weston Kurri and had been a prominent bowler in competition and representative cricket, announced his retirement.

The season saw the inauguration of the NSW Country Cricket Association - a body that was to give country cricket a much greater voice in its own destiny. Association Life Member Pat Wills, had made a significant contribution to its formation.