Success of Raymond Terrace

Success of Raymond Terrace2018-07-25T03:15:13+00:00

Daymond Terrace Club had outstanding success ~n the 1987-88 season, winning the club championship, the minor premierships in all three grades, the major premiership in third grade, and the minor and major premierships in C3 grade.

Their first-grade team, captained by Craig Evans, contained a number of promising young players in Andrew Adam, Glenn Grimmond, Stephan Jones, Peter Saunderson, Grant Howells and David Hanna. Their leading batsman was Andrew Adam who scored 512 runs and was named District Player of the Year. Off-spinner, Michael Lethbridge, with 30 wickets was their main wicket-taker.

In competition rounds, they lost only one match but were defeated in a low-scoring final by City United. The win gave City United their first, first-grade major premiership since their predecessor, Combined City, won the title back in 1958-59.

At the start of the season, there were two changes in the district clubs, brought about by the amalgamation of Northern District and Bolwarra to form Northern Suburbs, and by the promotion of Thornton from club to district cricket.

In their first season in first grade Thornton, captained by Jeff Daniels, put up a very creditable performance to finish fourth and reach the semi-finals, which were unfortunately washed out.

Todd Bowd (Northern Suburbs) headed the batting aggregate with 630 runs, while Northern Suburbs' captain Paul Johns, was the leading bowler with 36 wickets.

In the club section, SMR emerged as the A grade minor and major premiers, while Hinton won the club championship and the B2 minor and major premierships.

Karuah had its first success by taking out the BI minor and major premierships. Rodney Faulkner of Largs Club with an all-around performance of 53 wickets and 444 runs was named Club Player of the Year.

Maitland won the John Bull Shield for the second season in a row when it defeated Gosford-Wyong in the final at Maitland. In his first season of representative cricket Mick Walker (Weston Workers), was named Representative Player of the Year. He took 19 wickets in the John Bull Shield competition and had an impressive spell of bowling in the final to take 7- 57.

Following Zone Trials at Gunnedah, Stephan Jones was selected in the North-West Zone team that played in the Tooheys Limited Overs Country Competition. For his performances, he was later named Hunter Valley Colt of the Year.

Glenn Grimmond and Paul Dyson were in the Hunter Valley team that played in the Bi-Centennial Carnival at Penrith over Easter.

City United represented Maitland in the Newcastle C & S Bi-Centennial Twilight Competition and reached the semi-finals. Andrew Mullard was chosen in the NSW primary schools team that played in the interstate Carnival at Toowoomba.

Lindsay Wood was the manager of the Emu Colts team that toured NZ.