Tenambit’s Success

Tenambit’s Success2018-07-24T23:39:15+00:00

In the 1979-80 season, Tenambit won its first club championship and its first minor premiership in first grade. Its first-grade team was captained by John Fitzpatrick and included among its leading batsmen Trevor Drowley, John Richards, Robert Osmond and Tom Bailey, while its main bowlers were Paul Colledge, Dennis White and Darryl Sullivan.

Towards the end of the season, Tenambit was involved in a controversial first-grade match against Bolwarra (formerly Black Hill), that saw an early declaration and a forfeit of innings in an attempt by both teams to gain outright points.

In the semi-finals, Tenambit was defeated by Northern District, which went on to contest the final against Weston Workers (formerly Kurri Workers). Northern District won the match by 16 runs on the first innings.

The Weston Workers' captain-coach, Rod Bryant, was named Player of the Year. Rod came from the North-West region and the previous season had captained Combined Country. For Weston Workers he took 40 wickets and scored 243 runs, including a century.

Another successful Weston Workers' player was Neil Fox who headed the batting aggregate with 541 runs. Robert Morris (Police Boys) with 54 wickets was the only first-grade bowler to take 50 wickets. In a less recognised role as a spin bowler, Jeff Crittenden (Northern District) headed the bowling averages with 48 wickets at 10.14.

Morpeth, which again failed in its bid to gain the first-grade status, were second grade minor and major premiers, while Raymond Terrace took out the double in third grade.

Two new clubs to enter teams in fourth grade were Karuah and Bowthorne. Largs, which won the fourth-grade division 2 minor premiership, had some outstanding individual performances. Ken McNeilly took 34 wickets and scored 788 runs, including two centuries; Glen Crew took 101 wickets; and John Briggs took 10-22 against GUOOF-City at Largs, In fourth-grade division 3, Ken Mitchell (Metford Baptist) scored 810 runs and Phillip Lee (Thornton) scored three centuries.

In representative cricket, the Colts and Under 16s were again successful in winning their finals. One talented youngster to emerge in the Under 16s was Craig McEntyre who scored 196 runs and took 8 wickets. Bolwarra ended up joint holders of the Prudential Cup with Narara-Wyoming after the final was twice washed out. In one of the early round matches Phil Warby (Raymond Terrace) hit a "block-busting" 158 n.o. against Weston Workers in an innings that included 13 sixes and 12 fours.

Rod Bryant and Les Vickery represented Hunter Valley in the Under 23 Colts Carnival that was held at Maitland. Rod went on to captain the Combined North West/North Coast team that played against Combined South/West at the SCG.

Jeff Crittenden played in an invitation Hunter Valley XI against the Victorian Shield team at Gosford.

Tony Foot was selected in the Emu Colts team for the tour of NZ. The season also saw the introduction of six ball overs.