Two New District Grades

Two New District Grades2018-07-25T06:18:42+00:00

the 1990-91 season saw the introduction of two new grades in district cricket - fourth and fifth grade. Fourth grade played a mixture of two and one-day matches, while fifth grade played all one-day matches.

For the first time since 1974-75, Eastern Suburbs won the first grade minor premiership. Captained by Michael Finch, Eastern Suburbs had a number of strong performances with Drew Pannowitz (465 runs), Brett Ward (459 runs), Robert Humphries (455 runs and 16 wickets), and Craig Cox (341 runs and 51 wickets).

However, Eastern Suburbs was defeated in the final by Raymond Terrace. Skippered by Steve Jones, Raymond Terrace had a crop of young talent in players such as Rhys Soper, Derek Collins, Jason Hartcher, Mick Akerman, Rod May tom and Brett Cox. In the final this talent showed out with Derek Collins (68), Rod May tom (50) and Rhys Soper (48 n.o.) guiding Raymond Terrace past Eastern Suburbs' total of 228 with only five wickets down.

Northern Suburbs had a successful season winning the club championship, the minor and major premierships in second and third grades, and the minor premiership in fifth grade.

District Player of the Year was Weston Workers' captain Warren Redmond, who headed the batting aggregate and averages with 657 runs at 54.75. Four other batsmen also passed the 500 mark - Peter Gabriel (Thornton), Terry Walters (Raymond Terrace). Wayne Trappel (City United) and David Ward (Tenambit- Morpeth).

In the club section, SMR was the top club, taking out the club championship, and the minor and major premierships in A and C4 grades.

Club Player of the Year was Bill Bailey of Woodberry Colts with 629 runs. For the first time for a number of seasons, Maitland failed to make the final of the John Bull Shield competition. The Colts, which had been undefeated in the competition round, lost their final against Newcastle City & Suburban by four runs.

The final of the Prudential Cup ended in an "all- Maitland affair" with Raymond Terrace defeating Northern Suburbs.

Warren Redmond (capt.) and Rod Faulkner represented Hunter Valley in the Zone Trials at Gunnedah for the Tooheys Country Cup. Rod Faulkner, Darren Herbert and Matthew Hodges were in the Hunter Valley Under 24 team at the Zone Trials at Armidale, with Herbert and Hodges selected in the Zone team for a match at Grafton. Representative Player of the Year was promising Western Suburbs' youngster Darren Herbert, who was also selected in the Emu Colts team to play the NZ Colts at Grafton.

Following the Zone Carnival at Singleton, Matthew Gurr, Adam Payne and Matthew Hodges were selected in the Under 17 North West Zone team. Gurr went on to be selected in the NSW Country Under 17 team. Adam Payne from Thornton was selected for the Country Boys Coaching Class at Warrane College.

Todd Campbell, Simon Dillon and Jamie Wynn were chosen by the Hunter Academy of Sport in an elite development cricket squad. Maitland umpires, Rod Ninness and George Kuszelyk, gained their NSW Cricket Umpires' Certificates.

At the Annual Meeting, Life Membership was conferred on John Wells who had been Treasurer of the Association for eight seasons and Treasurer of the Hunter Valley Cricket Council since 1977-78.